Certificates of Added Qualifications

    Print this page

    Certificates of Added Qualifications (CAQs)

    The American Board of Family Medicine currently offers Certificates of Added Qualifications (CAQs) in Adolescent Medicine, Geriatric Medicine, Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Pain Medicine, Sleep Medicine, and Sports Medicine. These CAQs are offered in conjunction with other medical specialty boards. Family physicians must be currently certified Diplomates of the ABFM in order to apply and maintain certification in a CAQ. Successful CAQ candidates will be awarded the ABFM Certificate of Added Qualifications. The certificate will be valid for ten years, at which time recertification is required for renewal of the certificate.

    If for any reason the primary Family Medicine Certification is lost (e.g., expiration, revocation, etc.), the Certificate of Added Qualification will be simultaneously withdrawn. With restoration of the primary Family Medicine Certificate, the CAQ will be reinstated for any remaining period of time on the CAQ certificate.

    Questions or comments about the CAQs may be directed to an ABFM staff person by calling our Support Center at (877) 223-7437.

    Physician Login:


    Help! I forgot my password and/or username

    Upcoming Deadlines

    View important dates and deadlines for all exams.

    View Key Dates Button


    Get the answers to frequently asked questions.

    FAQ Button

    Sign Up for a CAQ Exam

    Find out how to apply for an exam.

    How To Apply Button