About ABFM

    Print this page

    ABFM Executives


    Warren Newton, M.D., MPH


    Warren Newton, M.D., MPH

    President & Chief Executive Officer: 2019-present
    Chair, ABFM Board of Directors: 2011-2012
    ABFM Representative to ABMS: 2009-2012
    Chair Elect: 2010-2011
    Chair, Research & Development Committee: 2009-2011
    Chair, Information & Technology Committee: 2008-2009
    Board of Directors: 2007-2012

    Elizabeth G. Baxley, M.D.


    Elizabeth G. Baxley, M.D.

    Executive Vice President: 2018-present
    Chair, ABFM Board of Directors: 2017-2018
    Chair Elect: 2016-2017
    Chair, Research & Development Committee: 2014-2017
    Board of Directors: 2013-2018

    Robert Phillips, M.D., M.S.P.H.


    Robert Phillips, M.D., M.S.P.H.

    VP of Research & Policy: 2012-present

    Roger Bean


    Roger Bean

    Chief Operating & Financial Officer: 2007-present
    Chief Financial Officer: 2000-2006

    Tom O'Neill


    Tom O'Neill, Ph.D.

    Vice President of Psychometric Services: 2008-present

    Martin A. Quan


    Martin A. Quan, M.D.

    Senior Advisor to the President: 2008-present

    James C. Puffer


    James C. Puffer, M.D.

    President & CEO Emeritus: 2019-present
    President & CEO: 2003-2018
    Vice President, Board of Directors: 1993-1994
    Member-at-Large, Executive Committee: 1993-1994
    Board of Directors: 1989-1994

    Physician Login:


    Help! I forgot my password and/or username

    ABFM News

    Get the lastest information from and about the ABFM.

    Read the News Button

    Diplomate Statistics

    Get more information about diplomates and the ABFM programs.

    Diplomatestats Button

    Patient Brochure

    Our brochure can answer many of your questions.

    Downloadpdf Button


    Find web sites for related organizations and other resources

    Getlinks Button