Maintenance of Certification

    Print this page

    Requirements for Diplomates who Certify or Recertify in 2011 and Beyond

    Any physician who successfully completes the examination in 2011 or thereafter will enter the continuous MC-FP process, which requires each physician to successfully complete MC-FP requirements in order to maintain certification. Diplomates certifying in 2011 and beyond will all have a 10-year examination requirement, a simplified financial plan, and flexibility with the module requirements. MC-FP rules now require participation thresholds to be met in 3-year stages. The printed certificate provided to physicians will not have an end date; however, MC-FP requirements must be maintained in order for certification to continue. Certification status will be contingent upon meeting these MC-FP requirements within each 3-year stage deadline.

    Each 3-year stage will have the same requirements:

    • A minimum of 1 Part II module (SAM) (most worth 15 points)
    • A minimum of 1 Part IV module (PPM or approved alternative) (most worth 20 points)
    • One additional Part II module(s) or Part IV module(s)
    • At least 50 MC-FP points (acquired by completion of modules) per three year stage

    In addition, each Diplomate must complete 150 CME credits every 3-year stage and continuously maintain a currently valid, full, unrestricted license to practice medicine in the United States or Canada and continuous compliance with the ABFM Guidelines.

    As long as a Diplomate continues to meet these requirements in each 3-year stage, the Diplomate will be listed as board-certified on the ABFM website. If a Diplomate fails to meet a requirement by the specified deadline, the Diplomate will be listed as "not certified" and certificate “withdrawn” on the ABFM website. A Diplomate has three years (after becoming "not certified") to regain their certification status by completing the required MC-FP activities. Once the delinquent requirement(s) are completed, the Diplomate will again be listed as board-certified (but a break in certification history will be listed permanently on the ABFM website).

    If a Diplomate does not meet the current 3-year stage requirements, and does not complete all previously delinquent modules in the next 3-year stage, the Diplomate will be required to complete the MC-FP Re-Entry Process (which will include successfully completing the MC-FP Examination).

    The MC-FP Re-Entry Process requires:

    • Completion of fifty (50) MC-FP points, which includes:
      • Minimum of one (1) Self-Assessment Module (SAM) 
      • Minimum of one (1) Part IV Module (PPM or approved alternative) 
      • Additional approved Part II or Part IV activities to reach a minimum of 50 points
    • Completion of one hundred fifty (150) credits of acceptable CME (minimum 50% Division I), acquired in last three (3) years
    • Compliance with ABFM Guidelines for Professionalism, Licensure, and Personal Conduct which includes holding a currently valid, full and unrestricted license to practice medicine in the United States or Canada
    • Submission of three (3) MC-FP Process Payments; one (1) payment at the start of each module
    • Submission of application and accompanying full examination fee for the MC-FP Examination
    • Successful completion of the MC-FP Examination

    For more specific information regarding ABFM Diplomate MC-FP requirements, please login to your Physician’s Portfolio.



    MC-FP Requirements for Diplomates Who Certify or Recertify in 2011

    2011 10-year chart



    * If a diplomate does not complete stage requirements, and does not catch-up with requirements within 3 years, the diplomate must re-enter MC-FP. Re-entry requirements: 50 MC-FP points (including at least one Part II and one Part IV activity), 150 CME credits, and successful completion of the MC-FP examination.