IOM Puffer/American Board of Family Medicine Fellow Jennifer DeVoe, M.D. Phil. Elected to IOM

Submitted on Sun, 01/25/2015 - 15:13

The American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) is pleased to announce the election of Jennifer DeVoe, M.D., D.Phil, to The Institute of Medicine (IOM).  Dr. DeVoe is an Associate Professor of Family Medicine at Oregon Health Science University (OHSU) in Portland, Oregon and was previously selected as the IOM’s 2012-2014 Puffer/American Board of Family Medicine Fellow.  The 70 new IOM members and 10 foreign associates were named during its 44th annual meeting this month.  Election to the IOM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.   

As a Puffer/ABFM/IOM Anniversary Fellow, Dr. DeVoe worked with eminent researchers, policy experts, and clinicians from across the country as they collaborated on initiatives convened by the IOM to provide nonpartisan, evidence-based guidance to national, state, and local policymakers, academic leaders, health care administrators, and the public. She also received a research stipend of $25,000.

As a practicing family physician and doctorally-trained health services researcher, Dr. DeVoe studies access to preventive care for low-income populations. She leads a multidisciplinary team with expertise in informatics, sociology, epidemiology, biostatistics, economics, and anthropology. She has established a track record of developing community collaborations and using rich community electronic health record (EHR) data sources to conduct policy-relevant and practice-relevant studies. Her team’s research findings inform community, practice and policy interventions that help to improve the delivery of care and eliminate disparities.

Dr. DeVoe is the principal investigator on several health services research and health policy research studies funded by the National Institutes of Health, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute, and the Health Resources and Services Administration. She is a 1998 Pisacano Scholar and obtained her MD from Harvard Medical School in 1999. A Rhodes Scholar, Dr. DeVoe obtained her Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and Doctorate of Philosophy (DPhil) from Oxford University in 1998 and 2001, respectively. She completed her residency in family medicine at OHSU in 2004. She received her Master of Clinical Research (MCR) from OHSU in 2010. She maintains a part-time clinical practice in her SW Portland neighborhood.

"It is with great enthusiasm that we welcome our esteemed colleagues to the Institute of Medicine," said IOM President Victor J. Dzau.  "These leaders' tremendous achievements have contributed significantly to advancing health and medicine.  The expertise and knowledge they bring to the IOM will encourage and enhance its success."

New members are elected by current active members through a selective process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.